Events around the World.

I’m interrupting the Scotland posts to share my thoughts on what has happened over the past few days. 

Obviously the first thing that will come to mind for many are the horrendous Paris Attacks, which happened on Friday 13th 2015. Out of the carnage so far we know that 129 people are dead, with another 99 people critically injured – meaning there is a likelihood that the death toll will rise.

A total of 415 people were injured in the attacks. 

Around the world, people are showing their support of France; today (16th November 2015) the entirety of my college had a one minute silence to honour those who died. They will not be forgotten. 

For me, these attacks hit very close to home. Literally. I live in England, France is our neighbour, and I have spent many a happy holiday there. I am learning French, and in my lesson today (which, rather fittingly, was when the silence took place), I could see the complete shock in which these attacks had on the others in my class.

I think that the reason many of us are so shocked is because this huge and horrific attack happened so close to us, and in a strong, rich and western country. We’re used to hearing about the awful things that are happening around the world – such as Syria – and yet we are not affected because it all seems so far away. 

This is not me agreeing with the media only covering these attacks – as there are many others which happened around the same time – but it is me trying to explain why it is happening. 

The other attacks I am referring to, happened in Beirut (Lebanon) and Baghdad. Both of which have been severely overshadowed by the Paris attacks, although I will admit, neither had as many casualties – but a human life is still a human life, and every single one of those matter. 

In Beirut, over 40 people died, and Baghdad also had more than one attack – like Paris – one of which killed at least 22 people, while wounding many more. And only a couple of hours after this attack, another bomb killed another 4, and left 9 wounded. 

The people who died in these attacks were normal people going about their normal business – their deaths were random, and it could have been anyone. 

These attacks are happening to scare people, those implementing them are doing so for power. It is no longer completely about religion – and I don’t think it has been for a while.

And one last thing, if you think that every muslim around the world is to blame for these, you are wrong. Very wrong. Muslim lives were lost in these attacks, and they are just as shocked as everyone else in the world is. They are just as sad, and they grieve along with us. Those who don’t, are a minority, and we should not increase their numbers by turning against those who are innocent.

If that happens, you are just as bad as the attackers. 

I saw a post on my Facebook today, shared by a friend, that said “We don’t believe that the KKK represent every christian, so why should we believe that ISIS represents every muslim?”, which I think sums the argument up pretty well. 

(I know there are still many unanswered questions, and while I am following the events on the news as much as I can, I don’t know everything – I just wanted to share my point of view on the matter!)

Leave a comment