Animal Shelter #1

Being one of those people who love animals, right from childhood, I try to get as much experience with animals as I possibly can. 
So I have previously volunteered at a stables, I now work at a kennels, and recently I started volunteering with a small animal charity based in the village where I live. 

Naturally this is a pretty good opportunity to take photos of the animals there, and yes I am aware that it is very different to capturing the animals in the wild, etc. 

So as I can only go down once a week, my job, when I get there, tends to be giving the hedgehogs food and water, and then weighing them to see if they’re putting on weight. Now hedgehogs are actually really difficult to photograph – and when I did take a decent shot, it didn’t get saved because my camera CF card had gotten too full.
Life sucks. Seriously. 


IMG_0298 (2) 

(I did manage to save one though, and there is a lovely little poop right at the front)

Last time I went down, however, there were some ducklings that had been rescued from a drain there. And they needed a bath because they, being young, were really very dirty. 
Again it was hard to get the photos of them, as they were in some water, and a lot of the time they tried to escape. 
But the next time I go down I will try to get some better photos! 

Enjoy! 

IMG_0334 (2)   IMG_0331 (2)   IMG_0319 (2)   IMG_0318 (2)   IMG_0313 (2)   IMG_0310 (2)

There are also a lot of birds there, mainly pigeons though. 


IMG_0302 (2)   IMG_0321 (2) 

Just to clear up, the cages the animals are in are not cruel, they are very happy in there, and as soon as they are okay to be released they will be! 
None of the animals are hurt or stressed out by being where they are, and the charity is quite small so no animals get left out (not that any would anyway!) 

Just to repeat: All the animals are there to get well enough to be released, and when they are they will be. 

Leave a comment